Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 09/04/2011

Ándale! Ándale! Arriba! Arriba!


This has to be the fastest photo taken, uploaded, and blog started that I’ve managed so far. The longest part has getting a card reader to read the SDHC card this was saved to – but that’s a gripe for another day. With the sun resplendent in the clear azure sky, today is not a day for gripes – grapes perhaps (fermented at that) – but not gripes.

Whilst this may look like a common bluebell (Hyacinthoides non-scripta) it is in fact a variant of the family bought from a National Trust property a number of years ago. Flowering about 6 feet away from where I’m writing this, amongst shrubbery (the plants, not me -I’m in my office) in the shade of the garage, even the light blue hues are enough to stand out against the greens, browns, and greys of the border.

It won’t be too long before the woods all over the UK will be awash with iridescent carpet of blue flowers. I noticed the first of the flowers in some woods today – I’ve tried many times to capture the essence of the woods but have failed but I like a challenge so will be out once again trying to capture that killer image.

Today’s title, well I bet you don’t need telling really. It was the catch phrase of Speedy Gonzales, the Loony Tunes Mexican mouse that was renound for his great speed. Mind you, he’s probably better known to this current generation as the mouse that advertises fast broadband. What some people will do for a piece of stilton.


Leave a comment

Categories