Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 07/11/2012

As Requested




POTD-02Jan11, originally uploaded by http://andrewskelton.net.

I’ve worked it out, I now know why the dynamic range of today’s digital camera is somewhat lacking especially when compared to the human eye. It’s nothing to do with pixel size, sensitivity or density – the sensors have all been developed in the UK during the winter months when the sky is overcast, the trees are drab and most of the colour seems to have been sucked out of the environment. As you may have guessed, I’m a bit cheesed off at the moment, despite having my S.A.D. light on whenever I’m sitting at my desk, cheesed off with the grey days and dark nights. I think it’s about time we muster all the powerful ships, boats and other waterborne craft and tow the UK to somewhere that’s sunnier and warmer during these dismal months of the year. It can’t be that hard, we are an island after all, so we just need to work out where the anchor is.

I regularly read various train modelling magazines which always seem to feature articles on how easy it is to take a perfectly good looking model and with a few simple changes make it look almost real. Each edition I read enthuses me to attempt some such modifications but then the thought of taking a £100 locomotive model and reducing it to something that looks like it was constructed on a round of “The Generation Game”*. Now if Bombardier or Alstrom start making locos that look like they’ve been melted or roughly made, then I might well take up the challenge.

*1970/80 TV show where contestant feebly attempted various challenges such as icing cakes or make clay pots.

Leave a Reply

Categories

