Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 06/08/2012

You ain’t seen me…….. right!*


Great Grey Owl, originally uploaded by http://andrewskelton.net.

August is certainly going to be a disruptive one where my blog is concerned; I had to write the entry for the 4th August on the previous day as i wasn’t sure I’d have the time, or the energy, to compose anything worth reading (“Never stopped you before”, Ed.) after a day at the Olympics (even if it was only Wembley). We’re off to the Olympic Park tomorrow to watch Men’s Hockey, stopping overnight in a hotel in Islington – and as I won’t be taking my laptop/netbook/tablet with me, I need to write something for the day’s entry and possibly the day after as well.

Whilst the hockey isn’t exactly the main stadium, we’re all very excited about visiting the site of the olympics, and it’s not like we’ve chosen any old event just to get in – my boy loves playing hockey (as well as Football, Rugby, Football, Tennis, Football, Golf, Football, Basketball, Football, handball, oh.. yes.. and he likes Football as well) plus it’s an exciting game to watch.. I just have to make sure I don’t become too involved and start caring as I did with the football!

I’ve tried to watch the Olympics on TV whenever I’ve had the chance and was glued to the set when Ennis, Rutherford and Farah won their golds, which was incredibly exciting, though when it comes to pure adrenaline, there’s nothing like the 100m final. Bolt certainly delivered on his claims of being the fastest around, his postulating in front of the camera reminds me of Ali showmanship – though I don’t think Ali ever claimed he was on his way to being a Legend.

“Legend”, (puts Pedant hat on) is one of those words, one that really winds me up when I hear it used – a bit like Genius, Ironic, and one I’m guilty of using myself… awesome. (still got my Pendant hat on) Legend is defined as “a non-historical or unverifiable story handed down by tradition from earlier times and popularly accepted as historical.” – I’m not doctor but I don’t think Bolt’s metabolic processes have ceased to function, shuffled off this mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the choir invisible… unlike that Dead Parrot, however, he does Voom!

* A popular catch phrase from The Fast Show

Leave a Reply

Categories

