Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 16/06/2012

Now what rhymes with Orange…


It’s Friday night (yes, I know it’s ACTUALLY Saturday night, but having written a number of blog entries so far this evening, I feel compelled to continue).. so, it’s Friday night and I’m going something rather uncharacteristic for me… I’m watching one of the Euro 2012 football (soccer if you prefer.. I personally don’t but that’s another story) matches.. England vs Sweden.  Now I don’t watch a great deal of sport on TV, and I watch even less football if I can help it but I thought I’d see how our national team are fairing in this major soccer event.  Of course I would prefer to be there in person, not so much to add my support but to photograph the event, however that isn’t what’s struck me about the game.  From the very start, as soon as the first note of the British National Anthem uttered forth, there was a loud whistling and booing from the Swedish contingency. I don’t think I’ve ever heard such poor sportsmanship before and the negativity has continued throughout the game.  I am aware that our fans aren’t what you can call saints, but I don’t think I’ve ever witnessed them call so derisory. Then again, I probably haven’t been paying attention closely enough before.

Leave a Reply

Categories

