Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 12/05/2012

All In A Spin




Abstract 1, originally uploaded by http://andrewskelton.net.

The sounds of a warm early Spring evening are hard to beat; a calm has fallen all around, the wind that was whistling through the trees earlier has subsided and the call of various blackbirds seems to echo around the garden. A relatively plain bird, but still very photogenic, its plumage does belie its beautiful seemingly endless song. The song reminds me of my childhood (I’ll try not to be too sentimental, Dear Reader), I can remember those balmy summer evenings, with the window open to let in the cooling air, and listening to a blackbird sing outside my window.

I did go looking for snakes again today, though not for long, needless to say I had about as much luck as I did at the Forest last weekend. It’d be a different story if I was in Guam! A small Island, only 30 miles long, has become infested with Brown Tree Snakes which arrived only years ago on the island but with no natural (or unnatural) predators now numbers around 2 million individuals. They have all but wiped out the local small bird population, but have adapted quickly, taking rodents, lizards… anything they can get their fangs into, in fact. I’m not wishing the same thing here, by any stretch of the imagination, but I would at least like to see and photograph one or two of our own native Viper family.

Scanning the photographic press today, I happened upon an article about the use of Canon dSLRs in the filming of the Hollywood blockbuster, Avengers Assemble, I went to see this week. During the recording, five 5D mark II and two 7D were used to film action scenes, their smaller dimensions allowing them to be placed in spots where conventional movie cameras couldn’t. I distinctly remember one part of the film, an explosion causes a car to fly through the air toward the camera, almost A-Team style, this scene was recorded using one of the dSLRs. Just goes to prove how good the video quality on these cameras these days are, either that or how good the computers are that Hollywood have at their disposal!

Leave a Reply

Categories

