Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 05/02/2012

A Bear Behind


Brown Bear, originally uploaded by http://andrewskelton.net.

Shame on me… I was presented with a perfect photo opportunity and decided to squander it. The snow which was falling as I wrote my blog last night was still present this morning but instead of going out and take some photos, I went out with a sledge and my boy to see if we could find a hill to slide down. Unfortunately, the snow wasn’t deep enough on the ploughed fields which are suitable for downhilling curtailing our sledging escapades. Rather than returning immediately home, we went for a walk in the remaining snow taking a different route home. Half way down a route we had walked previously we happened upon a public footpath we hadn’t walked before, and walking along this we happened upon a copse which was bisected by the footpath. A prettier wood I haven’t seen in ages, and I’m hoping that when the time is right that the woodland floor will be awash with bluebells – now that will be a photo opportunity a I won’t miss.

I dutifully put out food and water for the birds again this morning, but interestingly the tray of seeds which were intended for Great tits, Blue Tits etc had hardly been touched when I went to top it up later on. I don’t know whether there’s sufficient food still out for these birds, or whether they’ve had a better offer but they certainly weren’t beating a path to our feeders.

I’ve said before that the aquarium which we set up before Christmas is doing well and I’ve been wondered whether the Cherry Shrimp might actually produce any young. Having read various websites which implied that if the conditions are right then the patter of tiny claws would be inevitable. The sites said to look out for yellow “saddles” but despite searching I couldn’t find any diagrams that showed what a saddle might look like. I needn’t have worried, the saddles are very obvious, two of the shrimp having developed a yellow area on under their shells but on their backs. The yellow colouration is due to eggs that are developing within the shrimps body so it looks like I will be in luck. These eggs take around 30 – 40 days to gestate so we can’t be far off the new arrivals making an appearance. I’d better start coming up with a new set of names for them all!

Responses

  1. I have been experiencing similar happenings with my garden feeders Andrew. Broke the ice on the three water baths, topped up the seed and the suet, and no one came to visit. Charming…

  2. Fantastic shot! Love the look of his face. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

