Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 01/01/2012

A New Year…


… and the same old drivel, but this time I’m not compelled to write, bound by a silly New Year’s Resolution, it’s back to writing because I want to; having said that, tonight will more than likely be another short epistle, little having happened since I penned yesterday final 2011 missive.. well, nothing much in terms of wildlife or photography that is.

We ushered in the New Year round at friends, and luckily I was distracted enough not to make any silly resolutions, though of course if you’ve been reading this blog over the last couple of weeks you’ll know I’ve had a number of ideas in mind, of things I want to achieve in 2012. I still haven’t formalised the ideas but I’m not going to be as rash this time.

I’ve lamented the lack of light at this time of year and certainly the constant drizzling rain today hasn’t been conducive for wildlife photography which is where one of my ideas for a 2012 challenge comes in. I thought I could set myself a challenge at the beginning of each month, a theme, or a subject matter and then spend that month trying to be creative around the specific subject matter. I’m not sure whether this ideas is any more sensible than my last years resolutions but I want to progress my photography, and that won’t happen if I don’t put the effort in. I did have the equally mad idea to opening up the themes, once I’ve got into my stride, up to a vote on the blog thereby ensuring I stay outside of my comfort zone (I don’t perform well within this zone, thought I do perform well when I’m in “my zone” – a subtle difference). Am I mad to embark on such a challenge.. answers on a postcard (or more modern methods, if you care to).

On the list of things that I’m hoping to complete.. well, the website has to be paramount now, especially with the training course I’ll be giving at a certain Zoo at the end of the month… end of the month.. gulp, I hadn’t quite got that in my sights this soon after the festive season but it’s not far off. I’m going to have put in a great deal of effort between now and the big day but I’m hoping it will be the basis for future courses that I may well be running independently if I can create a market for it. Oh hark listen to me getting all business-y, that’s the last thing I want to happen, but obviously I want my photography to start paying for itself (actually catching up on back payments would be a start!) and I’m going to have to start thinking like that, to an extent.

So, photo challenge, training, blog, website and books – I’d better roll up my sleeves, get off my butt and get started… well, may be tomorrow – I am allowed one day off at least.

Leave a Reply

Categories

