Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 07/09/2011

I’m riding along, on the CREST of a wave…


MORE Macaque mugshots, and not the last by any means but seeing as you’ve all been so good recently I may start posting some more photos from Dartmoor Zoo, having spent some time reviewing the first batch of photos from there. As mentioned in a previous blog, I’ve been fascinated by these charming monkeys ever since I saw them for the first time in 2008 (Drusillas Park). Spending any time watching these animals, you start to realise that we should really choose our words more carefully when hurling insults about – you might not be actually insulting the person (in fact you’re more likely to be insulting the creature) For example, “you’re an animal” when someone is rather uncouth, “you dirty rat” when rats are actually quite clean creatures that just happen to inhabit dirty environments (predominantly created by humans)… well, you get the picture.

These incredibly photogenic monkeys are to be found, in the wild, on two islands in Indonesia (a familiar story to yesterday’s blog… actually I’m just reusing the same data and extrapolating a bit!),their native home of Sulewesi where there are fewer than 4000 individuals left, and Pulau Bacan (I just can’t get away from it you see – I am trying Dear Reader – I guess it’ll be cold turkey next) where a second colony was established in 1867, now number 100,000 strong.

I’ve featured 5 images of the same individual (and they are all individuals in the troupe (“I’m not)) to show the subtle change in features – plus I liked all five and so found it hard to narrow down a choice to one or two photos. The photos are of the same macaque as featured yesterday and so with 9 images of this monkey you really get a good sense of it’s mood whilst I was photographing it (annoyed with my intrusion? Well, most animals are.. and birds… and (we did this one yesterday, enough. Ed.)).

Leave a Reply

Categories

