Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 09/08/2011

Who Needs ‘Em?


Office 2000, Wordperfect 5.1, Office 2010, OpenOffice, Lotus Smartsuite going cheap – surplus to requirements! I don’t think I’ve mentioned before how much I’ve embraced the cloud! Nope, I’m not talking about hugging a fluffy stratocumulus but the current movement of services and software to specific vendors; Amazon are famous for their Cloud services but actually it’s another well known name that you may be more familiar with that I’m using – Google.

With Google’s meteoric rise, not only in the search engine environment but many other Internet base services, it was only a matter of time before they took on the might of Microsoft to offer an online Office suite which they have done, Google Docs. It’s been around for a good while now, starting out in 2006 when only a word processor was offered through until 2009 when the whole suite was offered to business and consumers alike.

I’ve mentioned before that I have photos distributed over a number of machines, which is not always convenient when trying to find a specific photo (I do have a central server – I just need enough time to transfer all the data across – which will be just after the machine crashes!) – the same goes for the text files I’ve been creating to upload to the blog (having lost a whole days worth of blog (between 250 and 600 words) you soon learn to use a text editor). In the same way the local central server (should be) is used as a central repository, the cloud can also help with a central repository for docs. I started this blog on a laptop upstairs, I’m now in my office downstairs, editing the same document but on my workstation, not because I want to show off but because I had a sudden thought and wanted to add something to another document.

Of course the big advantage is that I will have access to these documents, and others, when out on the road either via my phone, my laptop or a new android tablet I order today (so that I can always be in contact with you, Dear Reader… what was that sound, it sounds like a 1000 people turning off their computers and bolting for the door! Hello… hell–ooooo, is anyone there?).

Leave a Reply

Categories

