Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 27/07/2011

Let’s go fly a kite


Let’s go fly a kite
Up to the highest height
Let’s go fly a kite
And send it soaring
Up through the atmosphere
Up where the air is clear
Oh, let’s go fly a kite!

Oh what it must be to be as free as a kite, soaring through the air – not the paper and string variety but the magnificent bird pictured here. As I’ve mentioned before, their reintroduction into the UK after having been wiped out in all but the remote areas of Wales and Scotland is a true environmental success story. More over, I feel the countryside is all the better for having these graceful birds soaring hither and thither where ever the wind and their desire takes them. How can you not stop and stare every time you encounter one (well, unless you’re doing 80… I mean 70mph down a motorway of course).

A short blog so far – I will write some more later when I return from an evening out. So, TTFN.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous pic Andrew of my favourite bird in all the world!
    I am off to Rayhader in Powys for a week at the weekend. Staying in my caravan on Gigrin Farm Feeding Station. Probably my favourite place to just sit and watch wildlife. Can’t wait, will post anything that I think will pass muster!! In the words of my good friend Mary Hopkin, the Red Kite is like pure Welsh air!
    Andrew can I ask you to register with my blog please, trying to spread the net for us all.
    Cheers

    • Aah Gigrin Farm, we stayed there quite a few years ago – and whilst the light wasn’t great for photography it was wonderful to watch all the kites on the wing like an aerial ballet. Oh and the cheeky buzzards hoping on the floor stealing the food!

  2. The weird thing is that the kites will not swoop and take any food, until the Crows have landed and started to eat. The kites will just keep circling until the Crows land. How strange is that?

    • The kites must have a loft opinion of them selves and so used the crows as food tasters. Actually since the corvid family is so persecuted, I guess if it’s safe for crows it has to be safe for them. Sharp bird, the kite.

  3. Have you registered with me yet please? I am new to blogging and I want to try and spread the word.

    • Hi mark, I registered this morning and i’ll add you to my links page when I get home 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

