Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 19/06/2011

Don’t Panic Mr Mainwaring!


Help.. Help.. Emergency… Help! Perhaps, I’ve overstated that a little but I started, in earnest, planning for my trip away in just over a weeks time. Having cleaned my white board, I’ve now filled it with things I need to take as well as things I need to do. Luckily the things to take list is longer than the things to do however as the week progresses I may find that this reverses, with many more things to do than to take.

Today’s wildlife encounter is another one that hasn’t found it’s way to on to the camera, but one that was thoroughly enjoyable. Whilst out around the village pond, taking the photos that have found their way on to Flickr today, I happened upon one of the creatures I’ve been hoping to spot for a long time… a grass snake.

It’s pretty obvious when you think about it; dense foliage around a pond, close to heath land with ample safe areas to bask – why I haven’t seen one before I’ll never know. I don’t care that I didn’t take a photo, it was a special moment just seeing this wild snake so close to human habitation. They do inhabit compost heaps and grass piles which helps them to retain their body temperature, there’s one fairly close which might be worth staking out. Not yet though, I think I’ve got enough things to take up my time this coming week.

Leave a Reply

Categories

