Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 12/06/2011

I Love My Car


So sang Belle and Sebastian on the B side of their 2001 “I’m Waking Up To Us
single, which can be found on the Jeepster compilation album “Push Barman To Open Old Wounds“. The album is worth purchasing for this one song alone, with a Beach Boys influenced melody, up until the middle eights after which the band take their influences from the eastern side of the USA with a trad. jazz inspired interlude. A great song.

The camera remained firmly in the camera bag today, with so much rain throughout the day there was little point trying to photograph anything… mainly because there was very little visiting the garden. Co-incidentally, I’m watching the Canadian Formula One Grand Prix where the weather has been comparable to that viewed from my office window during the day.

I did put this time in doors due to inclement weather to good use; as I mentioned yesterday I had printed a number of photos for the exhibition but still have a number to do – well, I managed to finished printing all the photos. I also attached each of the prints to the picture mounts, so all I need to do now is apply some double-sided tape to the backing card, and then place each of the photos into their own special clear envelope.

I’ve already explained the Blog title, but there’s a little more to it than a random song. I do indeed love my car, a roadster, which does have distinctive looks – I would however consider swapping it for this absolutely gorgeous classic car. The Auburn 851 Speedster was originally built in 1935 when it would have cost £800. A considerable amount that only movie stars and Business Moguls would have been able to afford, this car reeks style and panache. It would appear that I’m not the only one who would swap their eye teeth for them as a firm in America actually build replica version incorporating more modern technologies like power steering, but retaining all it’s character and charm. I could imagine myself with a homberg hat and trench coat driving around in this… “here’s looking at you, kid”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

