Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 03/04/2011

Once more into the Breach,


Dear friends, once more. The elusive video cable for the remote control has still not made an appearance and as such there has been little to show in photographic terms for today.

Luckily I do have one or two photos in reserve. Actually it’s more than that, having just checked I have 139,155 images taken over the last 11 years, of which I can probably delete 139,000 of them! I first started taking digital photos back in 2000 when I bought an Olympus C3000z. Quite a chunky compact camera by today’s standards but then that was 11 years ago and there have been tremendous gains in this field. Having read all the reviews, this camera seemed my best bet, having topped most of the poles for best compact or what ever they were called back then.

I finally succumbed when I saw the camera for sale in Duty Free, Terminal 1, Heathrow (News at Ten) whilst jetting off somewhere or other. With the 17.5% tax knocked off the price, it was too good to miss, and I purchased it immediately.

It’s probably a good thing that I didn’t test it before I bought it, if I had I would never have purchased the camera. I’d been used to using a film SLR where everything was mechanical or manual. So when I pressed the shutter on the STX-1N I had, the photo was taken immediately. Imagine my disappoint when, in the back of the taxi en-route from the airport to the hotel, I unboxed the camera and found that pressing the shutter needed to be timed using a week to view calendar. Shutter lag was appalling and I thought seriously about taking it back but I’m glad I stuck with it.

All the photos posted today on Flickr were taken wit that camera. Despite the relatively low resolution of 3Mpixels (most camera phones have much greater resolution – though not necessarily quality) I managed some okay shots, such as this one, taken on a cold and crisp January morning at Centre Parcs, Longleat (upmarket (just) Butlins).

This photo goes to prove that whilst the rapid advances in digital cameras means you can get some good photos from them, all these oogabyte pixel cameras aren’t necessary to get a good photo. I’m still proud of this image and would probably take one that looked very similar with my current gear (though it would take me longer to pack it all and then decide on the lens to use!) in other words… K.I.S.* or Keep It Simple.

*(as opposed to the more patronising K.I.S.S – and if you have to ask what the last S stands for well.. I’ll let you fill in the blanks.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

