Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 01/04/2011

April the 1st


Nope, there won’t be any tricks or chicanery from me today, so you don’t need to be on your guard for any April Tom Foolery*.

Despite being desk bound for most of the day, today, it’s been a pretty good day (there seems to be a run of them at the moment, I hope I don’t use up my quota too soon), and going into the weekend the weather seems promising enough for more photography, except I have to be at my desk at home for most of it. All is not lost, however, as Baldric would say “I have a cunning plan“. I’ll be setting up my camera gear in the dining room as I have previously but I won’t be able to sit patiently waiting for wildlife to appear as I have other things to occupy my attention; what I do have is a box of tricks (actually it’s more like two boxes of wires, resistors, IC, etc) that allows me to remotely fire the shutter of the camera whilst at the same time being able to see what the camera can see. In other words, it’s redirecting the view finder to a portable, wireless screen which can be used to fire the shutter.

It’s witchcraft I tell ye, witchcraft (it turned me into a newt… but I got better).

Far from such arcane jiggery pokery, the device uses wireless technology available in almost everything these days to transmit the Live View data to the 3.5″ screen receiver. A fantastic use of technology which will allow me to do two things at once. Impossible I hear you say.. well, yes.. I am a man, and we all know us blokes can’t multitask!

A distant relative perhaps – but not one to own up to (apart from the whole web!)

Responses

  1. Wow I do have a long way to go.
    I’m new to blogging please could you check out my Duck Hunting (camera loaded) blog http://missc247.wordpress.com/, feedback would be brilliant.
    Regards
    C


Leave a Reply

Categories

