Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 05/03/2011

He shoots, he scores!


A break from my usually conversation topics, which I’m sure you’ll be pleased about, as whilst I’ve been out with my camera, it wasn’t to photograph either flora or fauna… but instead I was taking pictures of… wait for it… people!!

Heavens above, me.. snapping away and having human beings ACTUALLY in the photos. What ever next!

Today was the first outing for me and my camera gear to the children’s football team I’ve mentioned before. For those new to the blog, where have you been?,  with the consent of parent and the coaches of a local under 12’s football team I provide the club with photos which are then used to create a rather groovy Club Year Book. With photos of the attendees, as well as details of each child’s achievements throughout the year it really is a great memento and the amount of effort that is put into it (not by me I hasten to add) really shows.

Anyway, as I said, today was the first photos I’ve taken this season, though I do have an admittance to make… I did take my camera gear to last weeks training session but ermshuffles feet looks at floorerm thecamerabatterywasflat. A bit louder please.. OK… the battery of the 1D was completely flat when I went to press the shutter for the first time. Having checked before setting off the charge level had been at 71%, this would usually last me 2 days of continual shooting. I was rather cross with myself and rather confused as to what had happened, as well as a little worried in case the camera had developed a fault. Casting my mind back I had, the last time I’d been out with the camera I’d been approached by a member of the public asking about my camera equipment. To show what it was capable of I enable Live Mode, to demonstrate what the camera could do as well as the bird I was focused in on. Now if you leave your camera on… and whilst in transit the button that enables Live View is nudged, then surprise surprise… it’s enabled and it d-r-a-i-n-s the camera’s battery.

So, lesson learned (for now), don’t talk to members of the public or even trained professionals! Interestingly, for statisticians out there, today was one of the highest number of shots taken in one day – 989. When you consider this was taken in 90 minutes it is going some, an average of 10 photos a minutes. Actually that doesn’t sound too bad – I suspect I can quite easily beat this total and I think I know when this will be, but for the moment, whilst some planning is done, it will remain a secret. Ooh aren’t I such a tease.

 

(468 words and I’ve not even mentioned today’s photo was taken at the International Birds of Prey Centre, Newent!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

