Posted by: Andrew Skelton | 06/01/2011

Stuck on 4 down…


small monkey from South America.. M.. somethingRsomethingsomething..S..E.. something?

Just to show that I don’t solely take photos of birds, here’s a complete departure.. a mammal! Taken back in 2006 with a Canon 300D borrowed from my Dad, and a sigma 80-400mm lens, it shows to some extent that the megapixel race is a bit of a fallacy as this camera has a 6 megapixel sensor and still manages to produce a good image. Granted the more pixels the more fine detail the final image will have but until I checked the EXIF information I hadn’t realised what camera I’d used to take the photo I was just pleased with the image… which for me, is what it’s all about.

Looking back now, I’m amazed I managed to capture such a hyper-active monkey with the 300d. These diminutive creatures are constantly on the move, with fleeting movements of their heads to check for imminent danger, photographing such creatures is always demanding at the best of times and even now with the 1D4 (yeah, I know… it’s awesome!) I’d expect to expend a great number of shutter clicks to gain one satisfactory image, and yet looking in the folder on my computer where this was from, this was the only image of the marmoset (4 down).

This blog and my recent uploads to Flickr are heavily nature biased but really I don’t see myself as just a nature photographer. A bit like the A team, if you want a photo taking, if no one else can help, and if you can find me, maybe you can hire the Andy Skelton team (well, just me really).  I like taking photos of just about anything, and sometimes I’ve even been known to include a person or two in them!  I love it when a plan comes together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

